Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall

If there was ever a book about Mental Health that was needed to read, Under Rose-Tainted Skies is it. I’m beyond blessed to have been granted an ARC. With how much this book meant to me and how kind and.. remarkable the Author is I will be supporting her and her writing from now on. There’s just no way I can’t.

As a suffering person of Anxiety and Depression for so long I’m only just exploring books that tap into the mental health realm. Upon finding URTS I don’t think I could have started with something better.

Synopsis: Norah has agoraphobia and OCD. When groceries are left on the porch, she can’t step out to get them. Struggling to snag the bags with a stick, she meets Luke. He’s sweet and funny, and he just caught her fishing for groceries. Because of course he did. Norah can’t leave the house, but can she let someone in? As their friendship grows deeper, Norah realizes Luke deserves a normal girl. One who can lie on the front lawn and look up at the stars. One who isn’t so screwed up.

 

Every person who reads this book WILL find themselves in Norah and/or Luke. There just isn’t a way around it. I know that is a common thing to say about main characters but when a contemporary comes along and really digs under your skin poking at very true vulnerabilities it’s very hard not to look at yourself and wonder if what’s being said on the page isn’t true about yourself. More than once I had to stop reading the book because as Norah explores her own mind in her many, MANY break downs, (because let’s face it, OCD and Agoraphobia is going to weigh and you -will- freak out now and again) I would reflect on my own anxiety and how easy it is lose yourself and only make your attacks worse.
       However, with the adults in Norah’s life and they truly give some very hard core advice on how to help her over come obstacles. Especially when it came to boys. Luke is a charmer. He’s funny, cute, and gets her but he has his own .. challenges, as well. Does it bring them together? In what ways?
You’ll have to read!
When I was reading URTS it felt more like a friend was talking to me. Like Louise was helping me through my own problems. Or, as if, she wrote this book FOR ME. Norah has a one parent home. Issues with boys and intimacy. She feels better off alone, but hates it at the same time. Most of all -HATES- change. It felt like Louise watched my life and just.. wrote about -ME-. I know hundreds of others will feel the same way. It felt like Louise was making friends with me, as well. Which is strange to say, I know, but that she was reaching out a hand to say ‘It’s okay to be weird and have problems. You’re still a person.”
So thank you, Louise Gornall. This book is something.. I will never forget.
I won’t go into the ending because, honestly, the whole book is a treasure and I will be reading it over and over again. I found it healing and something I will purchase in ALL forms.
US release date is: January 3rd, 2017.
I strongly encourage everyone to order a copy. You won’t be disappointed.
Leave a Reply

